Thursday, August 19, 2010

Week 3

The last few days were kind of long. I'm so happy that its P-Day...I really need it today. We lost 4 members of our district to the Guatemala MTC on Tuesday, including the District Leader. Guess who the new District Leader is? Thats right...its me. I get the opportunity for about 3 weeks. I get the mail everyday now, and the mailbox is quite possibly the worst thing ever. Its like the state government facilities. It just doesnt work right and its frustrating. Except for the DMV place. That was nice. The mailbox is a combo thing, and you hear a click then you have to twist it to the left some more. Its so hard. Its ridiculous. We had a fireside on Sunday by 3 hymn makers. It was kind of interesting, but pretty boring. If I was like Clark Pixton or Zach Froelich, it would have been so money. But I'm not. So it wasn't.
At the TRC on Tuesday, we were supposed to check on how our "investigator" was doing with reading the Book of Mormon, and praying about Joseph Smith. We asked him did he pray about Joseph Smith. He did, and then said he read 3 Nephi 11, and had questions about baptism. (Note: This is ALL in Spanish) Then he asks us about why we do baptism the way we do, and why its right. So in my best Spanish, I'm trying to explain that we do it by immersion, and roughly quoted Romans 6:4 in Spanish, and thats how Christ did it, and thats how the scriptures tell us to do it. It was interesting. I have no idea if anything I said was right, but I think I got the point across. Out teacher was cracking up during this. I don't know why. (Sidenote: Our teacher just got engaged, it was actually a really cool idea) (Sidenote again: Our other teacher is leaving at the end of the month, only 3 weeks and we got rid of one). Then we got to teach in English, so that was good. He had some interesting questions that I somehow answered. I was just talking and got inspiration. It was pretty sweet. Oh yeah, next Wednesday, we go to Spanish 24/7. It will be interesting to say the least.
We had a Devotional on Tuesday night by someone in the Presidency of the Quorum of the Seventy. I forget his name at the moment but it was really good. He talked a lot about the Book of Mormon, and having the Spirit when we teach. Its not our work, but the Lords work. Oh yeah, so since I'm District Leader I get to go to training on Sundays and Tuesdays. Lots of meetings now. Its not fun at all. I got a letter from the President of the MTC about me becoming District Leader, that was a little weird. At first I though i was getting transferred to some Chinese speaking mission. Why else would the MTC send me something?
I have heard that 6 weeks at the MTC the sisters start looking good. At 6 months into your mission, all the women around start lookin good. At 1 year, your companion starts looking good. What happens after that, I don't know. I don't really want to find out. Its a scary thought. Thoughts on that from former missionaries?
Anyways, I miss you guys, and I love you. Spanish is evil. THe MTC is evil. But both are fun. Doesnt make sense. I'll be sending some pictures soon. Have a good day.
love,
Elder Gilreath

No comments:

Post a Comment