I can't believe its snowing so much there. WHHHHYYYYYY???????? I love the snow. And the one year I'm not there, it's snowing a ton, and in December too. All I have is hot weather that drains you real fast and you have to drink a ton of water.
Sounds like Delainey was a crack up. As always.
And don't worry about me getting married fast after I get home. I'm not planning on it for a couple years after. But who knows, you never know what's going to happen.
Anyways...a quiet fast week here in San Miguel. We had a Christmas thing with 4 other zones on Thursday. That was real fun because I got to see some Elders from Soya and other Elders from the MTC. We put on skits (ours was army of Helaman) and had a lunch with mashed potatoes, turkey, rolls, some veggies and some store bought brownies with juice. And Pres gave us some bags of stuff. And some medal. It's actually pretty slick. Has the temple on one side and basically the mission logo of Jesus being baptized on the other. Best part. I got 3 of the packages that you sent. And while I didn't meet Elder Harvey, I did see a package addressed to him. Oh yeah, we played a bunch of games too. Zone against zone. And I think Soya started a water balloon fight. I can't remember which Zone.
Anyways, so that night was a ward missionary activity. And I got to be Santa because as they put it ¨Santa is a gringo¨. But they didn't have a suit. They bought tissue paper to make the suit. And they put some stocking on my feet. And stuffed balloons up my shirt. Needless to say, I was a ridiculous looking Santa. The young women in the ward who made it had a real fun time with it. And the guys chilling in there (my comp and other young men) had a good laugh too. I remember thinking that last year, I would have never done something like this. Anyways, they took me to the rocking chair and I kind of tore the suit sitting down. By the end of the night, it had a ton of holes in it in different spots. But the kids were playing games, and would randomly come by and say Hi Santa and shake my hand. Then run off..and come back and do it again. It was pretty cute actually.
And then we had a baptism on Saturday. I'm not going to lie, it's got an interesting story. For goofs of missionaries or ward members, this person was a member without a record. It was lost. Nothing in the church system. Nothing at our house. Only a picture. But she couldn't remember who baptized her or the date or any of that. So we asked her to be baptized again. And she had no problem with it. So she was baptized by the Patriarch, and confirmed by the bishop and has records now. And I was thinking how easily she could have taken offense to something like that, and been angry with us, and the church and just left. But there was none that I saw. Just a girl who wanted to get baptized again because she knew it was right. It was actually a pretty cool experience, and a great lesson to learn.
And we are looking good for a baptism or two this weekend. Keep your fingers crossed.
Love you guys and miss you a ton.
Elder Gilreath
P.S. I have met Elder Otten....already, and we have talked.
No comments:
Post a Comment