Tuesday, November 29, 2011

November 28, 2011

Sounds like good weather.

And you can count on me to help with the community Christmas thing next year...I might regret writing these words next year...but oh well...haha.

The investigators are good. They are willing...just with their own special problems. It kind of sucks to meet great people like this and then sometimes we have to leave them...it's the worst.

As for the phone call...apparently church will only be one hour because Sunday is Christmas...that is what I have heard anyways..so we should be able to call really whenever on that day. I'll talk with my comp a little bit and see what he thinks...but also tell me when everyone can get there so that I can talk with them.

Mrs. Schick is excited to see me?....cool.

Let's see...so my comp kicked his first dog in the mish...

And also a funny story...maybe it won't be funny in writing...but oh well...

So my comp was chilling in a hammock....and I'm talking with another missionary (we had gone over to their area for P-day to chill...they have the beach to take pics and stuff...) so anyways...we are just talking and we kind of hear a thud...we are like...what was that...and we look over and somehow the hammock has fallen...it was still tied up and everything it was like the ropes extended or something. And so now the hammock is touching the ground but still swinging a little bit and my comp is still in it...and he just says...sucks....and just keeps laying there...I realize this is one of those had to be there things...but it still makes me laugh just thinking about it.

Lets see...we went to Puerto again as mentioned above...so I got some new beach pics...

idk what else...we have had some really good weather here.

and the one pic with the guy in a shirt is one of my best friends from the mish..or was....he went home this week. He finished...he's done....symbolic picture right there...i'm still like a missionary and he's in normal clothes...(it was P-day so he can be like that).
That's about it for this week...miss you all...

Monday, November 21, 2011

November 21, 2011

Changes are this week. But we already know and I'm staying with Elder Martin one more change...basically the month of December is the change. So I'm locked in for Christmas in Zaragoza unless something changes in the next little bit.

So Brian (Barker) is going to SLC? nice for him. He'll love it...and he'll get taken care of. And baptize a lot...SLC is legit.

Anyways...so in the 3 days since I last wrote...not much has happened. We did find some Americans from ATL here. It was an interesting conversation...they are here doing service as a mission thing...they come down for 2 or 3 weeks 4 or 5 times in the year. They definitely had differing views on things and tried to make us question what we know...but that's not happening. I have never been so sure of the truthfulness of the Gospel in my life. And I told them that...I said, ¨I don't really care what you tell me, I know these things are true and I'm not going to change¨. There was one thing I did like from the conversation, (all in English by the way); the guy said that we should all do a self examine of our heart and find out who is leading our life. He was trying to use it in a different way...but it's good advice...every now and then we need to step back and look at ourselves and ask who is running my life right now?

That's about it for this week. I don't have much to say. Love you guys

Thursday, November 17, 2011

November 17, 2011

That would be ¿toda vía guapisimo?....and the answer. claro.

Spanish...it was interesting with that starting sentence...that's for sure.

The temple was great. We had an interesting time getting there. The coaster we were on broke down after like 10-15 minutes and we all had to get out...so there was a bunch of people chilling waiting for buses. And we are on the highway still. So we start walking a little so that we can ask for a ride. And we get one super fast...but it's a guy in a super beat-up van. So we get in...and sure enough...that stops working...but he got it going and took us to Santa Tecla. Then we just found a taxi that got us there super fast and cheap...which was good because by that time we were running out of time. Crazy morning.

The sessions in Spanish are good. I understood everything and it was all good. I forgot a few things but not too much.

Things are good here. The investigators are kind of driving me crazy...so everything is normal :P

Changes are next week. In 6 days. I'm pretty sure that I won't be going...but who knows. It's possible. Just not likely.

Anyways...that's all I got...love you all...peace


He had a little more time so he sent this later...

Bueno pues. Tengo un poquito tiempo más para escribir....y ya he contestado todas las cartas...entonces...escribiré una carta en español. Hoy es jueves el 17 de noviembre en el año de 2011. Casi estamos en el mes de diciembre. Llevo como 16 meses más o menos. Me faltan 6 cambios más en mi misión. No sé porque estou escribiendo como una historia ahorita pero....está bien.Hoy fuimos a Little Ceasars para almorzar. Casi comí una pizza entera. Me gustó mucho. En como un mes voy a hablar con ustedes. Por Navidad. va a ser tan divertido. que más....el temple fue divertido. Me pregunto cuando regresaremos. ¿Cómo está el barrio? Todo bien. Espero que sí. Ya me voy a ir. Salud pues


Loosely translated it says:

Well. I have a little more time to write .... and I have answered all the letters ...so I'm writing a letter in Spanish. Today is Thursday 17 November in the year 2011. We are almost in December. I have like 16 months or so. I need 6 more changes in my mission. I do not know why I'm writing this as a story now but .... we went to Little Caesars for lunch. Almost ate a whole pizza. I loved it. In a month I'll talk to you. For Christmas. It will be so fun. The temple was fun. I wonder when we'll return. How is the neighborhood? All right. I hope so. I'm going to go. For health.

Thursday, November 10, 2011

November 7, 2011

I won't have P-day on Monday next week. It will be on Thursday...so when I don't write back on Monday...it doesn't mean anything. It's because we are going to the Temple on next Thursday and so President switched that to our P-Day. Fun, huh?

Its still weird to me that Sister O won't be Sister O...where are they gonna live? In NC or somewhere else?

El Sal...it's doing good. We had some hot days last week. It was kind of weird...but so normal too...

We also had a multizone that was pretty good...I liked it a lot, and learned a lot.

For P-day today we actually went to a volcano...but it just had a big old crater that had a bunch of trees...obviously it's not active.
And we also went to a point where we quite literally saw all of San Salvador.

And we could see the temple from way up there.

It was weird because we could actually see like almost all the zones of the mission. Except for like 4...I had honestly forgotten how small El Sal is....but that reminded me. El Sal is a tiny country.
And send me goldfish...por fa.

As for BYU...that interest kind of died now...my interest in transferring to UNC is still alive though. I will not lie about that. But I think I want to stay in NC...I love it too much. I think everything I need is there...so don't worry mom...

hope you all have a good week.

Love Elder Gilreath